Mexican head coach Jose Manuel “Chepo” de la Torre, announced today the 20-man roster for Mexico’s game against Venezuela this coming Wednesday, January 25 at 9 p.m. ET at Houston’s Reliant Stadium. The match kicks-off Mexico’s five-game 2012 U.S. Tour.

Tickets for the game, presented by Wrigley’s Extra® Gum, are available at by calling 1-800-745-3000 or at the Reliant Stadium box office, which is located at the south end of the stadium inside the Budweiser Plaza, Monday- Friday, 10 a.m. – 5 p.m. (local); Saturday – Sunday from 10:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m. (local).

The Mexican National Team roster includes experienced players that have performed in both Europe and Mexico. Such as defender Carlos Salcido from Tigres UANL, Chivas de Guadalajara forward Marco Fabian and Toluca’s goalkeeper Alfredo Talavera. Team leader Salcido spent several years in the top European leagues, having played for PSV Eindhoven and Fulham. Salcido is currently on loan from Fulham to Tigres UANL, where he led the team last season to the Mexican First Division Championship. Fabian has been a key attacking player for Chivas de Guadalajara since 2007, while veteran Toluca goalkeeper Talavera has been a consistent performer throughout his career. Talavera has won two Mexican league titles and was part of the Mexican National Team squad that was crowned Gold Cup champion in 2011.

The Mexican Federation also announced the remaining dates for the 2012 Mexican U.S. Tour: Feb. 29 vs. Colombia in Miami (previously announced), May 27, May 31, and June 3. Additional information regarding the tour dates and opponents will be provided at a later date.

Venezuela head coach Cesar Farías, has named a 24-man roster of veterans and younger players that includes Alejandro Moreno (Chivas USA/USA), Emilio Rentería (Columbus Crew/USA) and José Manuel Velazquez (Mineros/VEN). Moreno has won three titles in his MLS career, having recorded more than 50 goals and 30 assists in nine seasons. Rentería, who finished the 2011 as the leading scorer for MLS’ Columbus Crew with eight goals, has 19 goals with “La Vinotinto” at the youth levels and three goals with the senior team. José Manuel Velázquez, who represents the up-and-coming generation that qualified for the first time in Venezuela’s history to a FIFA U-20 World Cup, has also been named to the roster.


Goalkeepers: Jesús Corona (Cruz Azul/MEX), Alfredo Talavera (Toluca/MEX).

Defenders: Israel Jiménez (Tigres/MEX), Hugo Ayala (Tigres/MEX), Edgar Dueñas (Toluca/MEX), Hiram Mier (Monterrey/MEX), Néstor Araujo (Cruz Azul/MEX), Carlos Salcido (Tigres/MEX), Jorge Torres Nilo (Tigres/MEX).

Midfielders: Israel Castro (Cruz Azul/MEX) Jesús Závala (Monterrey/MEX), Jesús Molina (América/MEX), Javier Cortés (Pumas/MEX), Javier Aquino (Cruz Azul/MEX), Efraín Velarde (Pumas/MEX), Néstor Calderón (Toluca/MEX).

Forwards: Edgar Andrade (Jaguares/MEX), Marcos Fabián (Chivas/MEX), Oribe Peralta (Santos/MEX), Rafael Márquez Lugo (Morelia/MEX).

Head Coach: José Manuel de la Torre


Goalkeepers: Leo Morales (Dvo. Anzoátegui/VEN), Alan Liebeskind (CD Lara/VEN)

Defenders: Jhon Chancellor (Mineros/VEN), José Manuel Velázquez (Mineros de Guayana/VEN), Javier González (Dvo. Petare/VEN), Carlos Salazar (Dvo. Anzoátegui/VEN), Andrés Rouga (Dvo. Táchira/VEN), Rubert Quijada (Monagas S.C/VEN), Joel Cáceres (CD Lara/VEN), Carlos Rivero (Dvo. Anzoátegui/VEN)

Midfielders: Micky Mea Vitali (CD Lara/VEN), Francisco Flores (Dvo. Anzoátegui/VEN), Agnel Flores (Mineros/VEN), Diego Guerrero (Dvo. Táchira/VEN), Edgar Greco (CD Lara/VEN), Alejandro Guerra (Mineros/VEN), Darwis Machis (Mineros/VEN), Diomar Díaz (Dvo. Petare/VEN), Ángel Chourio (Dvo. Petare/VEN), José Reyes (Dvo. Anzoátegui/VEN).

Forwards: Alejandro Moreno (Chivas USA/USA), Emilio Rentería (Columbus Crew/USA), Hermes Palomino (Chernomorep/Bulgaria), Richard Blanco (Dvo.Petare/VEN)

Head Coach: Cesar Farías