Columbus Crew Stadium

The Sports Turf Managers Association (STMA) recently announced its 2013 “Field of the Year” awards. For soccer, there were three winners:

  • Professional – Columbus Crew Stadium (Columbus, Ohio): Weston Appelfeller, Director of Grounds
  • College / University – Championship Field at Seattle University (Seattle, Wash.): Kevin White, Athletic Fields Supervisor
  • Schools / Parks – The Jungle at Louisa County High School (Mineral, Va.): Michael Hopkins, Turfgrass Science Instructor / Sports Turf Manager


A panel of 16  judges independently scored entries based on playability, appearance of surfaces, utilization of innovative solutions, effective use of budget and implementation of a comprehensive agronomic program. Awards will be presented at the 25th STMA Conference & Exhibition in San Antonio, Tex. Jan. 21-24, 2014.

STMA logo

Previous articleMario Balotelli signs with PUMA
Next articleCristiano Ronaldo awarded with second FIFA Ballon d’Or
Holding a United States Soccer Federation “A” license, Glenn has coached at the collegiate, high school and youth levels for more than 10 years. A two-year captain, two-time All-Conference and NSCAA All-Region selection at the University of Mary Washington (Fredericksburg, Va.), his life has been dedicated to the sport and he comes from a long lineage of coaches. Glenn’s father serves on Virginia Youth Soccer Association’s Coaching Education board. Furthermore, his uncle is the longtime head coach of men’s soccer at Division I Marshall University.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.