PHOENIX – The Crew fell 2-1 to MLS expansion side Vancouver Whitecaps FC in its second match of the 2011 preseason at the Reach 11 Sports Complex in Phoenix. After a goal by Vancouver’s Atiba Harris, Eddie Gaven drew and converted a penalty shot for the Black & Gold to briefly tie the game. But 2011 MLS SuperDraft First Pick, Omar Salgado scored the game-winner for the ‘Caps just a minute later.

Trialist goalkeeper and former Ohio State standout Ray Burse stopped a penalty kick in the 30th minute to keep the teams scoreless through halftime.

COLUMBUS, OH - NOVEMBER 6:  Columbus Crew fans...
Image by Getty Images via @daylife

Midfielder Eddie Gaven was forced to leave the pitch in the final minutes of play after he tweaked his ankle.

After spending the first part of preseason at Reach 11 in Phoenix, the Crew will now move to the Westside Complex in Avondale, Ariz., where it will host the Seattle Sounders on Thursday, Feb. 10.

Scoring Summary:

VAN – Atiba Harris, 62’
CLB – Eddie Gaven (pk), 76’
VAN – Omar Salgado (Harris), 77’

Crew Lineups:

First 45 minutes: Ray Burse, Sebastian Miranda, Chad Marshall, Andy Iro, Shaun Francis, Robbie Rogers, Rich Balchan,  Emmanuel Ekpo, Dilly Duka, Emilio Renteria, Jeff Cunningham

Second 45 minutes: Caleb Patterson-Sewell, Ben Sippola (Cory Elenio, 73’), Kyaku Nyamekye, Alex Fraga, Josh Williams, Eddie Gaven (Santiago Prim, 89’), Kevin Burns (Cole Grossman, 71’), Dejan Rusmir, Bernardo Anor, Justin Meram, Andy Adlard (Leandre Griffit, 72’)

Vancouver Lineup:

Jay Nolly, Alain Rochat, Michael Boxall (Bilal Duckett, 63’), Greg Janicki (Jay Demerit, 76’), Jonathan Leathers (Wes Knight, 59’), Nizar Khalfan (Kyle Porter, 46’), Gershon Koffie (John Thorrington, 76’), Terry Dunfield, Shea Salinas (Philippe Davies, 70’), Davide Chiumiento (Atiba Harris, 46’), Long Tan (Omar Salgado, 59’)

Major League Soccer plans to release the 2011 schedule this Thursday, Feb. 10. The Crew will play a balanced 34-game schedule starting on March 19, when it visits RFK stadium and D.C. United. The Black & Gold’s home opener will be the following Saturday, March 26, at 4 p.m. when the New York Red Bulls visit Crew stadium.

The 2010 NSCAA High School Player of the Year, Wil Trapp, tops a list of at least 18 Crew Juniors who will be transitioning to the collegiate ranks in the fall of 2011. Trapp and Crew Soccer Academy teammate Kyle Culbertson will be joining 2010 NCAA Men’s College Cup champion University of Akron. Below is a current list of Crew Juniors who signed letters of intent and the schools they will be attending.

Alexander Bechtol–Bowling Green State University
Anthony Boerio–Bowling Green State University
Kyle Culbertson–University of Akron
Frazer Fernandes–Ohio Dominican University
Matthew Hill–Xavier University
John Macias–University of Evansville
Chris Pearson—IUPUI
Jacob Rice–Carnegie Mellon University
Maxwell Riehemann–Davidson College
Zach Ross–Northern Kentucky University
William Trapp–University of Akron
Wil Walker–Xavier University
Brock Taylor – Ohio Dominican University


Mackenzie Clapper – Messiah College

Brianna Walcutt – Capital University

Shannon Schneider – Capital University

Lauren Juttner – University of Mount Union

Mary Clare Yerke – Wittenberg University

Enhanced by Zemanta

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.